Shakes & Fidget - The Game - Supportboard  

Go Back   Shakes & Fidget - The Game - Supportboard > Game & Support > Bugs & Complaints

Notices

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31  
Old 11-19-2016, 10:44 AM
spiny norman spiny norman is offline
Crusader
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 626
Default

Well, some additional follow-up. The problem seems not to be state/ISP specific. I went next door and logged in through my neighbor's wifi, connecting through Optimum online, the same ISP I have, and was able to connect to international server 1. So it seems to be related to something different in my house vs. theirs: different cable modem, different router, different service (I actually have higher speed service than they do and a fixed IP address, which I needed for work), or something with the cable running to my house vs the one running to theirs.

Could anyone with more network expertise than I give me some insight on how to trouble shoot this? As I posted before, my connection speeds and ping times seemed more than adequate.

And it still remains a mystery why I can connect to the US servers but not the international server.
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 11-19-2016, 11:24 AM
bobo baggins's Avatar
bobo baggins bobo baggins is offline
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: niagara falls, ny
Posts: 2,930
Default

have you tried replacing the modem and or router one could be bad. I say this because My parents had one that went bad. it didn't completely die but some websites you couldn't access. I could access the game but not the forums. for this game and there were a few other sites I couldn't access and some they visited they couldn't. hard wired it was fine once they had a new wireless router it all worked. So I suggest borrowing someones router to test it out. if that don't work then that I don't know the reason.
__________________

have fun, fight hard, die honorably


s3 s10 bobo baggins
s4 drittz
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to bobo baggins For This Useful Post:
spiny norman (11-26-2016)
  #33  
Old 11-22-2016, 12:23 PM
Leander's Avatar
Leander Leander is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,669
Default

Seems really complex. Unfortunately, I don't have an idea either.
__________________

Shakes & Fidget Community Manager
leander@playa-support.com


Like and follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Leander For This Useful Post:
spiny norman (11-26-2016)
  #34  
Old 11-22-2016, 01:55 PM
BMWGuinness's Avatar
BMWGuinness BMWGuinness is offline
Fidget's Griffin
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 957
Default

Have you tried using a VPN?

https://www.bestvpn.com/blog/38176/v...ers-need-know/

Free Trial to test

https://nordvpn.com/

Last edited by Leander; 11-23-2016 at 11:30 AM. Reason: Removed link...linking to products is considered as advertizing and not allowed
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to BMWGuinness For This Useful Post:
spiny norman (11-26-2016)
  #35  
Old 11-23-2016, 11:31 AM
Leander's Avatar
Leander Leander is offline
Community Manager
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1,669
Default

There are also some free VPN tools out there (Google).
__________________

Shakes & Fidget Community Manager
leander@playa-support.com


Like and follow us on Facebook and Twitter
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Leander For This Useful Post:
spiny norman (11-26-2016)
  #36  
Old 11-23-2016, 03:29 PM
rvm1975 rvm1975 is offline
Blacksmith
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 181
Default

My advice to use Vivaldi browser (ex Opera) bultin VPN. It's free for use on some bandwidth etc. http://www.opera.com/blogs/desktop/2...r-windows-mac/

It should eliminate potential issues on your router etc

Last edited by rvm1975; 11-23-2016 at 04:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to rvm1975 For This Useful Post:
Leander (11-24-2016), spiny norman (11-26-2016)
  #37  
Old 11-26-2016, 09:52 AM
spiny norman spiny norman is offline
Crusader
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 626
Default

Thanks for all the suggestions.

vivaldi does not have a built in vpn. Opera does.

I now have access through Opera, with the vpn, but also using HTML5 instead of flash. Not sure what has made the difference.

Tried a standalone vpn which worked with frequent disconnects to S&F, but this does not seem to be a viable long term solution since the ones I have seen have a data limit of 500 mb/month and I hit that in under 24 hours.

Now to connect through my iphone without using cellular data...
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 11-26-2016, 06:14 PM
BMWGuinness's Avatar
BMWGuinness BMWGuinness is offline
Fidget's Griffin
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 957
Default

Use Web Caching to reduce bandwidth issues

http://www.squid-cache.org/

Perhaps a free cloud based virtual PC

I don't know much about this, but its free if you want to research

https://www.desktopanywhere.com/

Last edited by BMWGuinness; 11-26-2016 at 06:17 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 12-02-2016, 02:43 PM
spiny norman spiny norman is offline
Crusader
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 626
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BMWGuinness View Post
Use Web Caching to reduce bandwidth issues

http://www.squid-cache.org/

Perhaps a free cloud based virtual PC

I don't know much about this, but its free if you want to research

https://www.desktopanywhere.com/
More interesting suggestions. Squid-cache sounds like something Playa should be running on their end. Looks to be above my pay grade to install at home. As does the cloud based PC.
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 12-02-2016, 08:25 PM
BMWGuinness's Avatar
BMWGuinness BMWGuinness is offline
Fidget's Griffin
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 957
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiny norman View Post
More interesting suggestions. Squid-cache sounds like something Playa should be running on their end. Looks to be above my pay grade to install at home. As does the cloud based PC.
Caching won't work as an upload from Playa, only a download from you or your ISP.

I used to provide it as a feature for my clients when I ran a wireless ISP. When they did a broadband speed test it showed 1GB download (this was 10 years ago) LOL making that $$$
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright by 'Playa Games GmbH'